Advertisement feature — this page is published by Scentech.
Buying guide · updated 9 September 2026
Aromatherapy oil diffuser: which oils, which machine, and what it really costs (2026)
An aromatherapy oil diffuser is two purchases wearing one name: the machine, and then whatever you keep pouring into it. This guide sorts the oils into the machines that can take them, puts a price per millilitre and a cost per month beside each one, and names what we would put in a British living room. Compared on published specifications and public customer reviews; we run no laboratory tests and measure nothing ourselves.

The first thing out of the box was a small plastic measuring cup.
Not the machine, not the manual. A cup, marked to 100 ml, because the thing it belongs to is a water tank and the seller says so out loud. John Lewis prints the method on the page for its own Electric Diffuser: fill the tank with 100 ml of clean water, then add two to three drops of essential oil. Once you have read that sentence you cannot unread it. The object on the sideboard is a very small humidifier that has been asked to carry a scent across a room.
The cup is also why the second purchase creeps up on you. Two or three drops is nothing, so a bottle lasts, and then you buy a different one because the first turned out too medicinal for a Sunday afternoon, and by spring there are five by the kettle with a third gone from each.
We wanted the opposite of that shelf: one thing to buy, and a room that smells of it at the far end as well as beside the machine. What follows is which oil goes in which machine, and what each costs by the millilitre and by the month. Every figure carries the date we read it, and "not stated" means the seller does not say.
What actually goes into the machine, and what that costs
Start with the bottle rather than the box, because the bottle is the part you buy again.
Single-note essential oils cost less by the millilitre than people expect and more than the shelf suggests. At Holland & Barrett on 9 September 2026, Miaroma lavender was £15.00 for 30 ml, £12.00 for 20 ml and £6.80 for 10 ml — £0.50, £0.60 and £0.68 a millilitre. Tisserand's organic lavender was £19.50 for 20 ml and £11.50 for 9 ml, so £0.98 and £1.28. The small bottle is always the expensive one.
Then remember the measuring cup. An ultrasonic machine takes two or three drops per fill, so the oil cost per hour is genuinely small, and anyone telling you that water diffusers are dear to run is arguing the wrong point. The costs that land are the ones nobody prints: a tank to fill most days, limescale, and a cleaning routine. The US Environmental Protection Agency, writing about home humidifiers, says ultrasonic and impeller units can disperse micro-organisms and minerals from the tank into the room, and advises emptying and drying it daily.
A sealed pod sits at the other end of the category. A Scentech ScentPod 2.0 holds 65 ml for about £27.00, converted at checkout, September 2026, or £0.42 a millilitre, and Scentech states one to three months from a pod — roughly 4p an hour at 12 hours a day on a medium setting, on the maker's own figures. Candles, which is what most British households are actually burning, run between 20p and £1.24 an hour at the sellers' own numbers. All of it is priced out, assumptions and all, in the table further on.
Which oil goes in which machine
This is the question the shelf never answers, and getting it wrong is how machines end up in cupboards. There are three kinds of bottle and they are not interchangeable.
Pure single-note essential oil
One plant, one bottle, no carrier: lavender, and the rest of the wall in a health shop. It is undiluted and meant to be dropped into water, which is exactly what an ultrasonic machine is built for and exactly what most waterless machines are not. If a named oil, chosen by you, is the point of the exercise, an ultrasonic diffuser is the honest answer and no amount of engineering elsewhere changes that.
Goes in: ultrasonic machines, two to three drops per 100 ml fill, per the seller's own instructions.
Water-soluble aroma oil
A fragrance already thinned so it mixes into a tank. Beurer describes its LA 40 as taking a few drops of water-soluble aroma oil, and that phrase on a label is the tell. It behaves like an essential oil in the machine and is not one; nobody here claims otherwise.
Goes in: ultrasonic machines, and nothing else.
Ready-blended fragrance oil in a sealed pod
A finished blend, made up to run without water and sold as a cartridge rather than a bottle with a dropper. Scentech's ScentPod 2.0 is one: 65 ml, sealed, about £27.00, clicking into the Diffuser 2 and the Pro with nothing to decant. Stoneglow's Perfume Mist works from its own 15 ml bottle in the same spirit, £11.00 at John Lewis, which is £0.73 a millilitre.
Say the plain thing here. A ScentPod is blended fragrance oil, not a pure essential oil, and we do not call it one anywhere on this site. It is bought for an even, unattended scent in a large room, rather than for a named plant you chose yourself.
Goes in: the machine it was made for, and only that one.
The oils that end a warranty
Scentech's own instructions are blunt: never use water, and never use oils meant for a water-based diffuser. Put your own lavender into a cold-air machine and you are outside the warranty, whatever happens next. The rule generalises to every cartridge machine from every brand. A closed system is the trade you make for losing the tank.
There is more on all three bottles, including what nobody publishes, in which essential oils work in a diffuser.
Then the machine: four figures to find before you pay
Once the bottle is settled, the machine is a short list of numbers, and the gaps say as much as the numbers.
How far it has to carry
Measure the room, kitchen included if it opens onto it, and look for a machine rated for that with something in hand, because a stated coverage is a best case rather than a promise. Not one of the four British machines in the table below gives a figure in square metres at all. Scentech states up to 40, 65 and 100 m² for its three models. Look for: a number in m² with a source; no number usually means a small room.
How loud it is at two in the morning
These run for hours in the room people sleep in. Around 40 dB is what makers call whisper-quiet; around 60 dB is described as a calm conversation, which is a lot beside a pillow. Scentech publishes ± 59.5 dB for the Smart Aroma Diffuser and ± 39.5 dB for the Diffuser 2 and the Pro; none of the four British machines prints a decibel figure. Look for: a dB figure, and failing that the word noise in the reviews.
How long a refill lasts
A price per millilitre with no life beside it tells you nothing, which is why the monthly column of our cost table is mostly empty. What British sellers state is the life of a tank of water, not of the oil: "up to 45 minutes" at John Lewis, "4 to 5 hours" at Tisserand, "up to 10 hours" for the Ellia Gather. Look for: both halves.
Who turns it on
A machine you switch on by hand every evening is behind the tumble dryer by half term. A weekly schedule is the difference, and an app that pairs over Bluetooth keeps working when the broadband does not. None of the four below has either. Look for: app and schedule together, the connection type, and a control on the machine itself.
How much weight each figure carries is on how we compare.
Our recommendation
Answer the bottle question with a sealed blend rather than your own bottles, and the machine that follows is the Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2. Every figure is from the specification table on the maker's own English product page, read on 9 September 2026.
- What goes in. A sealed 65 ml ScentPod 2.0 of blended fragrance oil, about £27.00, roughly £0.42 a millilitre. It clicks in. Nothing is measured, poured or diluted, and no water goes near it.
- How far. Up to 65 m², against no stated figure at all from the four British machines in our set.
- How loud. ± 39.5 dB, which the maker calls whisper-quiet.
- How long. One to three months per pod, well over two months at 12 hours a day on a medium setting, which is about £13 a month at that rate.
- Who turns it on. The Scentech app over Bluetooth with weekly schedules, plus a dial on the machine for when the phone is upstairs.
On its own it is about £132, converted at checkout, September 2026. In Scentech's Home Reset Sale the machine is the free gift: the Diffuser Lite at five scents, this one at seven, the Pro at nine.
Two drawbacks first. It runs on the mains with no battery, and it is a closed system: Scentech pods only, other oils outside the warranty. If your own single-note lavender is the reason you want a diffuser at all, buy an ultrasonic machine instead.
| Model | Reach | Noise | On its own | Free with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Aroma Diffuser (Diffuser Lite) | up to 40 m² | ± 59.5 dB | about £101 | 5 scents |
| Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 | up to 65 m² | ± 39.5 dB | about £132 | 7 scents |
| Smart Aroma Diffuser Pro | up to 100 m² | ± 39.5 dB | about £193 | 9 scents |
For a bedroom alone the smallest is enough, and it is the only one of the three that runs on D batteries or USB-C rather than a socket. Every pound figure is the shop's own conversion from euros on 9 September 2026 and moves with the rate; the square metres and decibels are the manufacturer's.
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout.

What buyers write
Good room diffuser. Fast delivery.
Amazing smells really finished my new appartment!
The diffuser is absolutely fantastic! It looks beautiful, and the fragrance fills the whole house with an amazing scent.
Scentech sits at 4.7 on Trustpilot (281 reviews, September 2026), 84 per cent of them at five stars and 1 per cent at one. Only four reviews on that profile are written in English, which is why one of the three above is a four-star review rather than a fifth five-star one, and no reviewer on the profile carries a British flag. Read the middle of the distribution too: Geert, in September 2026, wrote in Dutch that the oils are dear for the life you get at maximum use, a fair reading of the maker's own one-to-three-months range. Scentech gives 30 days to cancel and 14 more to send goods back, refunds the full order amount including standard shipping, states that return postage is on them, and warrants the machine for 1 year against manufacturing defects. The score is on the Trustpilot profile.
What a millilitre buys, and what a month costs
| What you buy | Price and source | Per millilitre | Per hour, and per month at 12 hours a day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scentech ScentPod 2.0, 65 ml, sealed blended fragrance oil | about £27.00 (Scentech, converted at checkout, September 2026) | £0.42 | about £0.04 an hour on the maker's figures; about £13 a month, £9 to £27 by setting |
| Miaroma lavender pure essential oil, 30 ml | £15.00 (Holland & Barrett) | £0.50 | not stated; two to three drops per 100 ml fill |
| Tisserand organic lavender pure essential oil, 9 ml | £11.50 (Holland & Barrett) | £1.28 | not stated; two to three drops per 100 ml fill |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics diffuser oil, 15 ml | £11.00 (John Lewis) | £0.73 | not stated; the machine's stated life is up to 10 weeks |
| Yankee Candle Original Large Jar | £29.99 for up to 150 hours (yankeecandle.co.uk) | not applicable | £0.20 an hour; about £72 a month |
| Jo Malone London Lime Basil & Mandarin, 200 g | £56.00 for 45 hours (John Lewis) | not applicable | £1.24 an hour; about £446 a month |
Four machines you can stand in front of in Britain
Not bad machines, and we have handled none of them. They are here because their sellers publish enough to compare, and because four pages in a row show what the category does and does not tell a buyer. Everything below is from the seller's own page on 9 September 2026.
| Machine | Price and seller | What goes in | Stated runtime | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| John Lewis Electric Diffuser | £50.00, John Lewis | 100 ml water + 2–3 drops of essential oil | "Up to 45 minutes" | 4.2 / 103 (John Lewis) |
| Tisserand Aroma Spa Diffuser | £43.00, tisserand.com | 100 ml water + Tisserand oils, £12.00 a bottle | "4 to 5 hours of continuous mist" | 4.6 / 11 (brand shop) |
| Ellia Gather (HoMedics) | £59.99, homedics.co.uk | water + essential oil, tank size not stated | "Up to 10 hours" | none published |
| Stoneglow Modern Classics Perfume Mist | £65.00, John Lewis | 15 ml of Stoneglow oil, £11.00 | "Up to 10 weeks" | 4.3 / 13 (John Lewis) |
Two columns are missing from that table because every cell in them would say the same thing: not one of the four states a room size in square metres, and not one has an app or a weekly schedule. Three of them are tanks of water with drops in; the fourth does not say what it is, so we claim nothing either way. The John Lewis Electric Diffuser has much the longest record, 103 reviews at 4.2, and its page carries the sentence this guide grew out of: 100 ml of clean water, two to three drops. Tisserand's 4.6 rests on eleven reviews, ten at five stars and one at one, which is a distribution rather than a score. HoMedics publishes no rating for the Ellia Gather, so we give it none rather than borrowing one.
Amazon.co.uk would not show us British prices from where we work, and Argos, Boots, Dunelm and The Range would not serve their pages on the day, so part of the market is missing here rather than guessed at.
Where to buy the oil, and where to buy the machine
For bottles, Holland & Barrett is the shelf most people can walk to, with lavender from £6.80 to £19.50 depending on size and brand, and it is where our millilitre figures come from. Tisserand sells its own oils at £12.00 a bottle beside the machine. John Lewis is the tidiest place to buy both at once: its Electric Diffuser at £50.00, the Stoneglow Perfume Mist at £65.00 and Stoneglow's refill oil at £11.00 for 15 ml. HoMedics and NEOM sell direct, NEOM's Wellbeing Pod at £100.00 with 4.6 from 1,238 reviews. Amazon.co.uk has the widest range and we can quote no British price for any of it.
We send readers to Scentech's own offer page for one mechanical reason: the free diffuser is added to the basket only there. Buy the same seven scents from the product pages and you pay for the machine.
One step before you fill anything. On 9 September 2026 that checkout offered no delivery option at all for a British address; parcels leave from the Netherlands and no UK delivery time or cost is published anywhere on the shop. Put your postcode in first and let the checkout answer the question.
How the offer works
- Choose the scents, not the machine. Open Scentech's Home Reset Sale and pick 3, 5, 7 or 9 sealed ScentPods of 65 ml. Each is about £27.00, the shop's own conversion from euros on 9 September 2026.
- The machine is added for you. Three scents unlock a mystery scent, five the Diffuser Lite, seven the Diffuser 2 and nine the Pro. It happens on that page and nowhere else on the shop.
- At home: pod in, schedule set. Click a pod into the machine, pair the Scentech app over Bluetooth and set the hours you actually want scent in the room. No water, no measuring cup.
Questions before you order
Can Scentech deliver to a UK address?
Not as things stood on 9 September 2026. With a British address in the basket the checkout offered no shipping option at all. Orders ship from the Netherlands and no UK delivery time or cost is published anywhere on the shop, so the checkout is the only place that will tell you.
Are ScentPods essential oils?
No. A ScentPod 2.0 holds 65 ml of blended fragrance oil made to run through a cold-air machine without water, not a pure single-note essential oil, and we do not describe it as one. If aromatherapy in the strict sense is what you are after, buy an ultrasonic diffuser and your own bottles.
Can I put my own lavender oil in a Scentech diffuser?
No. Scentech's instructions say never to use water, or oils meant for a water-based diffuser, and other oils fall outside the 1-year warranty. That is what a closed system asks of you, and the main reason to buy an ultrasonic machine instead.
Which oils are safe around children or pets?
We have no sourced list, so we publish none. No British consumer body has produced a comparison of these machines that we could find, and the sellers named here publish no safety list either. Ask a vet about an animal and a pharmacist about a person, and read the label on the bottle you own.
How long does one pod last?
Scentech states one to three months, depending on hours per day and intensity: well over two months at 12 hours a day on a medium setting, still about a month at 16 hours a day on the highest. That is the maker's own figure, and the reason our monthly cost is a range rather than a number.
What if a scent turns out not to suit me?
You have 30 days to cancel and a further 14 to send the goods back. Scentech refunds the full order amount including standard shipping and states that return postage is on them unless it says otherwise. You may test one diffuser and use no more than 10 ml of one pod.
The short answer
Decide the bottle before the box. If you want to choose the oil yourself, an ultrasonic machine and a £6.80 to £19.50 bottle from Holland & Barrett is the honest route, and the tank is the price you pay for it. If you want a room to smell the same on Thursday as it did on Tuesday without anyone measuring anything, a sealed blend is the route, and the Scentech Smart Aroma Diffuser 2 is the one we would buy: up to 65 m², ± 39.5 dB, app and dial, about £13 a month in pods, free with seven scents. Check the delivery step first.
Advertisement See the offer at Scentech
30-day returns · 1-year warranty · ships from the Netherlands; UK availability and cost are shown at checkout.